Review: QQ Thai Ice Cream – Dessert

Restaurant Location: 3278 Midland Ave, Scarborough, ON M1V 4A1

I’ve recently been spotting some videos on my Facebook feed about ice cream rolls. It was fun to watch but most of them were taped in Thailand at night markets so I thought I would never get a chance to try it, but Toronto always surprises me. I didn’t know that this trend of rolled ice cream would arrive in Toronto so fast, but in a blink of an eye, stores were being set up to serve this concoction.

I ended up heading to QQ Thai Ice Cream during the weekend and decided to get a matcha and latte mix. The place doesn’t advertise mixing the flavours but you can just ask them and they will do it for you. After, you can choose three different toppings to decorate it. In terms of seating, there is around 5 seats near the window and that’s about it.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I thought it would taste the same as an ice cream pint but it didn’t. It tasted more rubbery than I expected since it was rolled up. It was more chewy than regular ice cream but smoother in texture. I would recommend it only once – it’s not something I would go back for to eat again.

Restaurant Atmosphere: + + + + +

Portion size: Small – Normal – Fit for 2
Price: $4~$6
Taste: + + + + +
Indoor Seating: Yes
Overall: + + + + +

signature

Leave a Reply

