Review: Kandahar Kabab – Afghan Food

Restaurant Location: 2307 Markham Rd, Scarborough, ON M1B 2W3

It was super sunny and humid like it has been this entire summer. It wasn’t the heat that made me hungry, it was catching Pokemons in the humid weather. I use to judge people that downloaded the app, but guess what? I am one of them now. Muhahahaha. But, back to the topic where I was starting to feel hungry (aren’t I always?). Well, I stumbled (actually searched on Yelp) that there was a place nearby (Kandahar Kabab) and the pictures enticed me. The Kandahar restaurant had high ceilings and a non-traditional restaurant set-up. You simply order your food at the counter and find a seat yourself, but the seating area is arranged like it is at a restaurant. I really enjoy this combination because it takes all the fuss out of going to a traditional restaurant. After studying the Kandahar Kabab’s restaurant menu, I ended up ordering Veggie Mantoo (which I never had before) and Sultani Kabab. This is a great place to bring your friends since the meat they use is halal.

The first thing I noticed was the huge portions that the restaurant had provided. It could be easily shared by two people. The halal meat was super tender and I know this because I just kept shoving them in my mouth.

72eed901-5711-463e-94d0-56480df3530a

I also had the pleasure of trying out afghan mantoo! I found the shape and the name so interesting because it was so similar to Chinese dumplings and Korean mandu. Overall, I had a delicious meal and would recommend this place to try!

Restaurant Atmosphere: + + + + +

Portion size: Small – Normal – Fit for 2
Price: $10 ~ $20
Taste: + + + + +
Indoor Seating: Yes
Overall: + + + + +

signature

 

Leave a Reply

